So I got back, slept for an hour or so, and got up and went to my school for the day. Solo shows are ROUGH. But everything was put up in time and the show went on. I was so tired after it, but you know after a work out how you are tired, but have energy at the same time? Thats how I felt. I packed up, set the coordinates for the hotel, and on my way I went. I was driving straight on hwy 27 in Rahway, NJ when out of nowhere, a car comes across the intersection and I slam into them. Didn't even see it coming- no time to brake.
It wasn't only the car that crashed at that moment, my whole world did. The whole front end of the transit was smashed against me and all of the equipment in the back was pinned against my seat. Airbags deployed, smoke fuming, and car smells that I know I wasnt supposed to be smelling. I was in a lot of pain and it was difficult to breathe at first. I figured I had a punctured lung...all I knew was that I had to get out. And call my boss. I slid out of the transit and just stood in the intersection. There were a lot of cars around, people at the gas stations across the street, and there was me, in the intersection, leaning over trying to catch my breath. I began to get dizzy, so I sat down beside the transit so I wouldn't pass out and fall and hurt myself even more. I remember a guy running up to me asking if I was ok and other questions to keep me awake. And then the paramedics arrived.
I opened my eyes and there were 2 paramedics in front of me asking questions. The only thing I remember about what they said was when the female paramedic looked in the transit where I was sitting, she whistled and said "We've got to get her head checked out- she HAS to have head injuries. Look at those black things- there are right where her head would have been." Talk about scary. They put me in a neck brace and loaded me up on a stretcher and into the ambulance. Cops were asking me where my license was and I demanded I have my phone before I left. I had some people to call...
I remember saying over and over- I gotta call my boss, I gotta call my boss. I need my phone. Talk about dedication. I would NOT leave until I had it- and I knew it was going dead too. I had just hooked it up when I got back in the car from the show. So when I was settled in the ambulance and all hooked up, the cop brought me my phone and Andrew I called. I was surprisingly REALLY calm. I sometimes wonder if he thought I was joking. I said something like- (in a VERY calm manner)- "Andrew- I was in a pretty serious accident...I'm in an ambulance headed for the emergency room. Transits totaled. And I'm really sorry." I said a few other things, but I let the paramedic tell him where they were taking me. It had to be God there with me keeping me calm, cause I know normally I would have been FREAKIN out.
Now, the ride to the hospital was about 20 minutes. My phone didnt have that long and I knew I needed prayer. Follow me here, because you will understand my line of thinking when I tell you what I did next. The paramedic beside me was calling in my stats, etc and when she wasn't on the phone, or I wasn't trying to call someone- I was talking her head off. Its official- I talk a LOT when I'm nervous. While she was on the phone, I took a pic of me on the stretcher with the oxygen mask, etc and sent it to quite a few people asking for prayers. Probably NOT the smartest move, BUT, I needed prayer. Im not sure if I called my aunt then or she called me, but I was able to talk to her and tell her a little about what happened right before we got to hospital. As we were going in, I had to give phone to paramedic to tell the rest because I was going in the no cell phone area.As it turns out, I was taken to a university hospital. I got to a trauma room and was surrounded by a couple doctors and their students. I remember saying- OMG- Its like Greys Anatomy!! Everyone got a laugh out of that. I was feeling better, just still in pain on my side. I cracked a lot of jokes in the trauma area so it seemed like I was going to make it. I had a lot of tests taken- MRI, CAT, Xrays, blood...etc etc...I got lucky. All I had was 4 broken ribs and no head injury! 4 broken ribs still suck, but it could have been worse. A LOT worse.
I was stuck at the hospital for 3 days so they could make sure I was breathing properly. I was at risk for pneumonia if I wasn't. Camfel flew Kristen out to take my place and she came to the hospital to bring me my things from the hotel. The accident was on a Tuesday and I flew home on Sat morning. And that was that. It was the end of the road for me, so to speak. There were no traffic cameras or witnesses that came forward- so the police didn't give fault to me or the other guy. But in our statements, I didnt give a concise description of what happened, so I was at fault in the insurance's eyes. And lost my job.
So I'm back at home. Home being in NC. I live with my aunt, uncle and cousins in Granite Falls (near the lake :D) until I can find another job and get back on my feet. Looking back, I realize how bad the accident could have been. There is no reason I shouldn't have a serious head injury. 4 speaker stands were where my head was supposed to be, and those jokers are HEAVY. If the steering wheel would have crunched just an inch more towards me, I may not be here- or I could have a punctured lung, or some other vital organ. Recovery could be a lot longer. So I'm thankful. God spared me. I'm just trying to figure out for what purpose now.
The old adage goes-"Be careful what you ask for." I didn't necessarily ask to be back home, but in my last post and at times on the road, I kept saying I was homesick. Well, now I'm home. And I wish I could have finished out my tour. But there is no going back. I'm determined to just look ahead now.